Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Copyright © 2020 The Queen's Medical Center, Hawaii Medical Library. All rights reserved.
Send questions, suggestions and comments to the HML librarian via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Get The DynaMed & MicroMedex Apps
Use DynaMed and MircoMedex on your phone while you're on the go. Available for both iPhones and Android.
This tutorial demonstrates the features and functionality of EBSCO's DynaMed interface. Included are searching, browsing, and following topics.
DynaMed - Creating a Personal User Account - Tutorial
When you create a personal account in DynaMed, you have access to clinical content from any device at any time. In addition, signing in to DynaMed with a personal account enables you to follow DynaMed topics and updates, as well as claim CME, CE, CPD, and MOC credits and hours.
DynaMed - Claiming CME Credits and Hours - Tutorial
This tutorial demonstrates how DynaMed users can claim CME/CE/CPD/MOC credits after reading DynaMed content.
NLM’s PubMed is the most heavily used biomedical literature citation database in the world. PubMed provides free access to more than 30 million citations and is searched by more than 2.5 million users daily. It is a critical resource for helping researchers, health care professionals, students, and the public share information and learn more about the latest developments in life sciences.
Retrieving Full Text Articles
A tutorial on how to get full text articles for PubMed citations, both free and for a fee.
This is an updated introduction to your free My NCBI account. Learn how to navigate and change settings for your saved PubMed searches, Collections, My Bibliography, BLAST searches, and more.
Save searches and set up e-mail alerts for new results in many NCBI databases.
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial
This tutorial demonstrates the basic searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.
Additional functionality available from the CINAHL Plus, CINAHL Plus with Full Text and CINAHL Complete databases is also included.
* CINAHL with Full Text
* CINAHL Plus
* CINAHL Plus with Full Text
* CINAHL Complete
CINAHL - Finding the Evidence
Learn about special limiters in CINAHL, including: Evidence Based Practice; Clinical Queries; Special Interest, and CE Module.
CINAHL - Continuing Education Modules
Learn more about the continuing education modules available through CINAHL.
The course will highlight the unique structure of this database (including MeSH and the Tree) and includes a detailed review of specific limits, fields and search tips for this resource.
Ovid Medline Basic Search
This class covers all aspects of the Basic Search Mode in Ovid. A series of examples are used to demonstrate the effectiveness of the Basic Search function (this is not just for beginners but also for more advanced users). Natural Language, Related Terms and Relevancy are just a few of the search strategies that are discussed in detail during this session. Available in other languages
Ovid Medline Advanced Search
This course covers Advanced Search including building a search, an overview of searching with subject headings, Explode/Focus, keyword searching, combining and using limits, results options and how to save your search.